What must a wine nutrition label show?

A wine nutrition label for wine sold in the European Union must provide a nutrition declaration and a list of ingredients. Since 8 December 2023, the European Union’s Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 has required the energy value to be printed on the label itself and has permitted the remaining nutrition declaration and ingredient list to be provided by electronic means reachable from that label.

Energy value is the declared energy content of the wine. Under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117, the European Union requires the energy value to appear in the physical label text even where the other nutrition information is supplied electronically. A bottle may therefore present an energy value and an electronic route to the fuller disclosure rather than printing every nutrition field and ingredient on the bottle.

A nutrition declaration is the set of declared nutrition information for the wine. The European Union permits most of that declaration to sit in an electronic disclosure under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117, provided that the electronic information is reachable from the label. The absence of a complete printed nutrition panel does not, by itself, show that the required nutrition declaration is absent.

An ingredient list is the disclosure presented as the wine’s list of ingredients. Under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117, the European Union permits the ingredient list to appear on the physical label or in the electronic disclosure reached from it. An ingredient list answers a different question from the producer name, origin, grape description or style language elsewhere on a bottle.

The physical label and the electronic disclosure should therefore be treated as connected parts of the EU labelling arrangement. The European Union requires the energy value on the physical label under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117, while the remaining nutrition declaration and ingredient list may be placed in the electronic disclosure. A reader looking only at the printed back label may not be looking at all the information supplied for the wine.

Older general statements that wine is exempt from ingredient and nutrition labelling do not accurately describe wine covered by the EU requirement that has applied since 8 December 2023. The European Union’s Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 requires nutrition and ingredient disclosure but allows the required material to be divided between the physical label and an electronic disclosure.

The presentation of the physical label can still vary because Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 defines what the European Union requires and what may be provided electronically, rather than requiring every producer to create an identical-looking back label. The useful reading method is to identify the printed energy value and then follow the electronic route when the remaining nutrition declaration or ingredient list is needed.

For an explanation of producer names, origin statements, alcoholic strength and other common label fields, see the guide to how to read a wine label. Those fields can be read alongside the nutrition declaration and ingredient list, but they should not be treated as substitutes for the required disclosures.

Where EU wine nutrition and ingredient information may appear under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117
InformationPermitted locationHow to use it
Energy valueThe label itselfRead the printed declaration as the wine’s declared energy value
Remaining nutrition declarationThe label or electronic means reachable from the labelFollow the electronic route if the remaining information is not printed
Ingredient listThe label or electronic means reachable from the labelUse the disclosure associated with the specific wine rather than a general description

What changed on 8 December 2023, and which wine does the rule cover?

Since 8 December 2023, the European Union’s Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 has required wine sold in the European Union to carry a nutrition declaration and a list of ingredients. The requirement concerns wine sold in the European Union and does not establish a universal label format for wine sold in every jurisdiction.

The European Union does not require the complete nutrition declaration and ingredient list to be printed together on the bottle under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117. The European Union requires the energy value on the label itself but permits the remaining nutrition declaration and ingredient list to be supplied by electronic means reachable from that label.

The change on 8 December 2023 affects how general claims about EU wine labelling should be assessed. Guidance that describes EU wine as broadly exempt from nutrition and ingredient disclosure does not reflect the requirement created by Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 for wine sold in the European Union from that date.

The date does not mean that every compliant bottle must display the information in the same visual arrangement. Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 allows the European Union’s required information to be divided between the physical label and an electronic disclosure. The visible label can therefore remain relatively compact while the remaining nutrition declaration and ingredient list are reached electronically.

The relevant market is the market in which the wine is sold. Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 establishes the European Union’s disclosure framework for wine sold in the European Union, while a wine sold outside the European Union may be governed by a different labelling framework. The producer’s location and the sales market should not automatically be treated as the same thing.

A bottle intended for the European Union can therefore present different required information from a bottle intended for the United States. That difference reflects distinct regulatory frameworks rather than a necessary difference in the wine. Label comparisons are most reliable when the intended sales market is identified before missing or additional fields are interpreted.

The requirement also changes the question a reader should ask about a sparse back label. Under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117, the European Union permits the remaining nutrition declaration and ingredient list to be supplied electronically, so the relevant question is whether the required information is available in the permitted locations rather than whether every detail has been printed.

Rules tied to a jurisdiction and an absolute date are more dependable than undated claims that all wine labels work in the same way. The guide to wine rules that changed gives broader context for reading label advice against the applicable market and date.

The concise description is that wine sold in the European Union has been subject to nutrition and ingredient disclosure requirements under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 since 8 December 2023. The European Union still permits most of that information to be supplied electronically, so compliance does not necessarily produce a large printed panel.

Why is the energy value printed when the other information is electronic?

The energy value is printed because the European Union’s Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 requires that value on the label itself. The European Union permits the remaining nutrition declaration and ingredient list to be provided by electronic means reachable from the label, so an electronic route can form part of a compliant disclosure.

The physical label and the electronic disclosure perform different roles under the same EU arrangement. Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 requires the physical label to carry the energy value, while the European Union permits the fuller nutrition declaration and ingredient list to be placed in the electronic disclosure.

A reader accustomed to a conventional printed nutrition panel may expect all nutrition and ingredient information to appear together. Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 instead allows the European Union’s required disclosure to be divided by location. The printed energy value is therefore not necessarily the complete nutrition record for the wine.

The electronic route should be followed when the question concerns ingredients or nutrition information beyond energy. The European Union permits those details to be supplied electronically under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117, so a sparse physical label cannot be assessed without considering the information reachable from it.

An electronic disclosure should be associated with the wine identified by the label. Product information found elsewhere may describe a different wine or a bottle intended for another market, while Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 concerns information supplied for the wine sold in the European Union. Product-specific disclosure is therefore more useful than a general producer description.

The electronic disclosure and general marketing material should also be read for different purposes. Tasting language and producer descriptions may help explain style or identity, but the nutrition declaration and ingredient list are the fields relevant to the EU disclosure requirement. Descriptive language does not replace the information required by Regulation (EU) 2021/2117.

Electronic disclosure has a practical limitation because the reader must be able to reach the electronic information to inspect it. The European Union permits that format under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117, but the permission does not make the information visible in the printed label text. A reader without access to the electronic material may see only the energy value and whatever additional information the producer printed.

The permitted electronic format also means that a retailer’s description should not automatically be treated as the required disclosure reached from the label. A retailer may reproduce useful information, but the most direct reading starts with the specific bottle and follows the route presented there.

The correct interpretation is narrow and practical. Under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117, the European Union requires the energy value on the bottle label and permits the remaining nutrition declaration and ingredient list to be supplied electronically. A code or another electronic route is therefore a location for required information, not merely an optional source of promotional detail.

What appears in a wine ingredient list?

A wine ingredient list is the disclosure presented as the list of ingredients for the wine. The European Union’s Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 requires wine sold in the European Union to carry an ingredient list, although the European Union permits that list to be supplied by electronic means reachable from the label.

The ingredient list should be read as product-specific information rather than as a tasting note. A tasting description discusses perceived style, aroma or flavour, while the ingredient list records information presented as ingredients. Descriptive terms elsewhere on the label do not replace the ingredient disclosure required by Regulation (EU) 2021/2117.

The ingredient list should also be distinguished from the nutrition declaration. The European Union requires both forms of information under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117, but they answer different questions. The ingredient list identifies ingredients, while the nutrition declaration provides declared nutrition information.

A general description of a wine category should not be substituted for the ingredient list associated with a specific wine. Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 places the disclosure obligation on wine sold in the European Union, and the useful record is the list supplied for the wine being examined. A list found for another product should not be assumed to apply.

The same caution applies to broad production descriptions. Words that suggest a traditional, natural, restrained or minimal approach are not themselves an ingredient list. Under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117, the European Union requires an actual ingredient disclosure even where the bottle also carries descriptive production language.

An ingredient list does not answer every dietary, ethical or production question. The European Union’s Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 requires the ingredient disclosure, but the presence of that disclosure does not turn every other claim about the wine into an ingredient question. Suitability for a particular dietary preference may require information beyond the list itself.

Vegan suitability is a separate assessment from the existence of an ingredient list. A reader examining dietary suitability can use the guide to vegan wines explained and consult the information supplied for the specific wine rather than treating a general wine description as decisive.

Organic status is also distinct from the ingredient list. The European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/934 sets lower maximum total sulphur dioxide ceilings for organic wine than for conventional wine, but an organic claim and an ingredient list do not communicate the same information. The organic wine guide explains how organic production rules and label information relate without treating them as interchangeable.

The most reliable method is to identify the specific wine, read the physical label and follow the electronic route provided there. Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 allows the European Union’s required ingredient list to sit in that electronic disclosure, so stopping at the printed label can leave the ingredient question unanswered.

Which allergen statement does an EU wine label carry for sulphites?

An EU wine label must carry the words “contains sulphites” once total sulphur dioxide exceeds 10 mg per litre. The European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/33 sets that declaration threshold, which is low enough that almost every bottle carries the phrase.

Sulphites are the substance identified by the required “contains sulphites” statement. The European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/33 links the wording to total sulphur dioxide exceeding 10 mg per litre. The statement confirms that the declaration threshold has been exceeded but does not disclose the wine’s precise total sulphur dioxide.

The frequency of the phrase should not be interpreted as evidence that the bottle is unusual. The European Commission sets the declaration threshold at 10 mg per litre under Regulation (EU) 2019/33, and that threshold is low enough that almost every bottle carries the statement.

An allergen declaration is a required statement identifying specified allergen information. The “contains sulphites” declaration is not a complete ingredient list, and the ingredient list is not a replacement for the declaration. Regulation (EU) 2019/33 and Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 address related but distinct label information published by the European Commission and the European Union.

The sulphite declaration threshold and the maximum permitted total sulphur dioxide are also different concepts. The European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/33 requires “contains sulphites” above 10 mg per litre, while the European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/934 sets maximum total sulphur dioxide for dry conventional wine at 150 mg per litre for red wine and 200 mg per litre for white and rosé wine.

A declaration threshold determines when the label wording is required. A maximum total sulphur dioxide ceiling sets a production limit. The European Commission’s regulations therefore do not allow the “contains sulphites” statement to be used as a measurement of where a particular wine falls below the applicable maximum.

The European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/934 also sets lower maximum total sulphur dioxide ceilings for organic wine than for conventional wine. That distinction does not change the basic meaning of the “contains sulphites” statement: the words indicate that total sulphur dioxide exceeds 10 mg per litre under Regulation (EU) 2019/33, not that the wine contains the maximum permitted amount.

The label phrase should not be used as a general verdict on quality or production method. The European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/33 gives the wording a specific regulatory meaning tied to a threshold. The words alone do not provide a precise sulphur dioxide measurement or establish the wine’s broader characteristics.

A reader who needs a precise product-specific amount cannot obtain that amount from the declaration alone. The European Commission requires the wording after the threshold is exceeded, but “contains sulphites” does not state the measured total sulphur dioxide for the bottle.

For a fuller explanation of the declaration, the applicable ceilings and the limits of what the phrase establishes, see sulfites in wine explained. The defensible reading is that the statement communicates required threshold information and nothing more precise.

What do United States wine labels show, and what has been proposed?

United States wine labels do not operate under the EU nutrition and electronic ingredient system established by Regulation (EU) 2021/2117. The United States Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau proposed an “Alcohol Facts” statement on 17 January 2025, but the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau extended the comment period until 15 August 2025 and the proposal had not become a final rule.

The proposed “Alcohol Facts” statement would require per-serving alcohol, calorie and nutrient content on alcohol beverage labels under the Federal Alcohol Administration Act. The United States Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau published the proposal on 17 January 2025 and proposed a compliance date of five years from the publication of a final rule.

The proposed compliance timing was not an operative requirement because the proposal had not become a final rule. The United States Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau extended the comment period, comments closed on 15 August 2025, and the proposed “Alcohol Facts” rule remained a proposal.

The United States Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau also proposed a separate major-allergen disclosure rule on 17 January 2025. That proposal would require disclosure of every major food allergen used in producing wine, distilled spirits and malt beverages.

The proposed major-allergen rule also had not become a final rule. The United States Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau extended the comment period for the nutrition and major-allergen proposals until comments closed on 15 August 2025, and neither proposal had become final.

A proposed rule indicates what the United States Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau was considering on 17 January 2025, but a proposal is not a final federal label obligation. An account of current requirements should therefore identify the nutrition and major-allergen measures as proposals rather than describing their contents as rules already in force.

Existing United States wine terminology can also be misunderstood if “table wine” and “dessert wine” are assumed to describe sugar or perceived sweetness. Under 27 CFR Part 4, the United States wine labelling regulation classifies wine by alcohol rather than by sugar.

The United States regulation in 27 CFR Part 4 defines table wine as grape wine of not more than 14 percent alcohol by volume. The same United States regulation defines dessert wine as grape wine above 14 percent alcohol by volume and not more than 24 percent alcohol by volume.

The regulatory term “dessert wine” should therefore not be read as a guaranteed sweetness description. Under 27 CFR Part 4, the United States classification is based on alcoholic strength rather than sugar. Everyday style language and the federal alcohol classification answer different questions.

A comparison between a bottle sold in the European Union and a bottle sold in the United States should begin by identifying the intended sales market. Since 8 December 2023, the European Union’s Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 has required a nutrition declaration and ingredient list for wine sold in the European Union, while the United States Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau’s nutrition and major-allergen proposals had not become final after comments closed on 15 August 2025.

The absence of an EU-style energy statement or electronic ingredient disclosure on a United States bottle should not be interpreted by applying the EU rule to the United States market. Regulatory status, sales market and the distinction between a proposal and a final rule must all be kept explicit.

How do you read wine nutrition figures without being misled?

Read the printed energy value as the declared energy content of the wine, and treat a calorie figure calculated from alcoholic strength as an estimate rather than a direct measurement. The European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/33 permits a tolerance of 0.5% vol for alcoholic strength stated on an EU label, so the starting figure used in an alcohol-based calorie calculation is itself approximate.

Alcoholic strength is the stated alcohol by volume of the wine. The European Commission permits a tolerance of 0.5% vol for the stated figure under Regulation (EU) 2019/33, which means that a calculation built from the label value inherits uncertainty from its starting point.

A derived calorie figure can still be useful as an estimate, but the result should not be presented as if it were a direct measurement of the specific bottle. The European Commission’s permitted 0.5% vol tolerance under Regulation (EU) 2019/33 means that excessive precision in a derived result can imply more certainty than the label provides.

The declared energy value and a calorie estimate derived from alcoholic strength are not identical forms of information. Since 8 December 2023, the European Union’s Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 has required the energy value to appear on the physical label of wine sold in the European Union. A calculation from alcoholic strength is an interpretation based on a label figure that carries a permitted tolerance.

The physical label and electronic disclosure should be read together. Under Regulation (EU) 2021/2117, the European Union requires the energy value on the physical label and permits the remaining nutrition declaration and ingredient list to be supplied by electronic means reachable from it.

Different label fields should also be kept conceptually separate. Alcohol by volume describes alcoholic strength, energy value describes energy, and the “contains sulphites” statement identifies that total sulphur dioxide exceeds the declaration threshold set by the European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/33.

None of those fields is a complete statement of every characteristic of the wine. A declared energy value does not act as an ingredient list, alcoholic strength does not state sulphur dioxide content, and “contains sulphites” does not give a precise sulphur dioxide measurement.

The “contains sulphites” statement should not be converted into an assumed quantity. The European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/33 requires the phrase above 10 mg per litre, but the phrase does not identify how far above that threshold the wine sits.

The maximum total sulphur dioxide ceilings should not be used as assumed bottle values either. The European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/934 sets maximum total sulphur dioxide for dry conventional wine at 150 mg per litre for red wine and 200 mg per litre for white and rosé wine, with lower ceilings for organic wine. A regulatory maximum is not a measurement of the wine being read.

For practical explanations of the distinction between declared figures and estimates, see the guides to wine calories and wine alcohol content and units. The sound reading method is to prefer the declared energy value, recognise the permitted tolerance in stated alcoholic strength and avoid presenting a calculated calorie result as an exact measurement.

A careful label reading therefore uses each field only for the question it answers. The European Union’s Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 identifies where the nutrition and ingredient information may appear, while the European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/33 establishes the tolerance affecting stated alcoholic strength and the threshold for the sulphite declaration.

Bottom line

A wine nutrition label is the nutrition declaration and ingredient information provided for a wine. Since 8 December 2023, the European Union’s Regulation (EU) 2021/2117 has required wine sold in the European Union to carry a nutrition declaration and a list of ingredients. The European Union requires the energy value on the physical label and permits the remaining nutrition declaration and ingredient list to be provided by electronic means reachable from that label, so a compact back label with an electronic route may still provide the required disclosure. For sulphites, the European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/33 requires the words “contains sulphites” once total sulphur dioxide exceeds 10 mg per litre, but the statement does not disclose the precise amount. In the United States, the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau proposed “Alcohol Facts” and major-allergen disclosure rules on 17 January 2025, but comments closed on 15 August 2025 and neither proposal had become a final rule. A calorie figure calculated from alcoholic strength should also be treated as an estimate because the European Commission’s Regulation (EU) 2019/33 permits a tolerance of 0.5% vol for alcoholic strength stated on an EU label.

Primary sources

Every figure on this page comes from the body named in the sentence that states it. Here is where to check each one: